FAQ

 

1. What is a Segway?

The SEGWAY Personal Transporter (PT) is the first self-balancing electric vehicle of its kind. Its intelligent and highly complex technology enables for an unprecedented flexibility, such as allowing riders to turn without losing their balance. The Personal Transporter can speed up, brake and be steered by simply shifting the weight of the rider forward or backward.

2. How does the Segway work?

Segway developed its patented dynamic stabilization technology, consisting of an intelligent network of sensors, mechanical components and a control system allowing the rider to stay balanced on one axis. When getting onto the vehicle, five gyroscopes and two acceleration indicators analyse the changes in ground and the position of your body 100 times a second. A slight tilt forwards moves the SEGWAY forwards. In a similar manner, a slight tilt backwards moves the vehicle backwards. More detailed information about how a Segway works can be found under the heading “Technology”.

3. How fast can a Segway go?

The top speed of a Segway is 20 km/h. You can limit the speed via the Infokey Controller, say, for when practising moving around or when travelling through busy areas such as pedestrian precincts.

4. What range does a Segway have?

The individual range depends on several factors, including the weight of the rider, driving style, outdoor temperature and the age or condition of the batteries. A rider weighing approximately 75kg can easily reach a range of 35-40 km with an outdoor temperature of 20°C and a steady driving mode. Should there be a change in factors, such as in winter with low outdoor temperatures, or a heavier driver, the range can end up being considerably lower.

5. What does a Segway cost?

A brand-new Segway costs approximately 8500 euros.

6. What are the pre-requisites for riding a Segway?

To use a Segway on public roads a (valid) moped, motorcycle or car driving licence is compulsory. Given the design of the Segway, the weight of the rider must be between 45 and 115 kg (7 to 18 st). In addition, all riders need to be able to stand upright and to be able to get onto and off an approx. 20 cm platform without assistance. Furthermore, riders should not have any health impairments.

7. Where can I ride a Segway?

Segways are permitted for use on bicycle lanes as well as streets if there are none of the former. The Mobility Assistance Ordinance (Mobilitätshilfenverordnung or MobHV for short) in Germany governs all details. The ordinance can be found here (in German): http://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/bundesrecht/mobhv/gesamt.pdf.

8. How safe is a Segway?

The utmost care and research has gone into ensuring the safety of each Segway. Its truly revolutionary technology provides for a truly exceptional riding experience. Each Segway comes equipped with redundantly designed systems and sophisticated alert mechanisms. The sheer amount of field testing and hours of operation have demonstrated that Segways, when used properly, are safe to ride. Nevertheless, it is also important for riders to be aware of their own responsibility to ride the vehicle safely. Proper use and knowledge of how the Segway is operated prevents injuries that may occur due to improper use or loss of control.

9. What is a Segway ideal for?

Segways arent just great fun, theyre also extremely versatile: theyre the ideal vehicle for short trips of up to 15 km in congested urban areas. A Segway is very flexible, has very short braking distances, accelerates very quickly, takes up almost the same amount of space as a normal pedestrian, is very quiet, produces zero emissions making it extremely environmentally friendly, enables you to transport luggage and does away with everyday traffic issues such as sitting in a traffic jam, looking for a parking spot or waiting for public transport. And, unlike after riding a bicycle, you wont arrive at the office covered in sweat! In fact, youll arrive feeling completely relaxed and fresh, as if youd just left the house, despite having been in the fresh air the entire time. Furthermore, youll have had fun on your way to work! Ask yourself: Is there truly a better way to get to work than on a Segway?

To see just how much you can get out of renting a Segway, check out further uses and additional information under the heading Models.

10. Is charging a Segway expensive?

No, the actual costs for charging a Segway are minor. Charging a Segway will cost around 15 to 25 cents, depending on your electricity provider. A fully-charged Segway i2 can, depending on the weight of the rider, the surface to be ridden on and the number of gradients, reach up to 35-40 km. For just one euro in electricity costs, a Segway can therefore reach - on average - approximately 200 km, equating to 5 cents per 10 km. (In comparison, a passenger car incurs costs of approximately 1.30 in petrol for the same distance). Whats more, the batteries recharge on braking thanks to energy recovery.

11. How long does a Segway last?

Segways were designed for extreme durability. Developing such a long-lasting and durable product meant focusing on two main priorities. First, its mechanical and electrical systems were built in a solid state; even the moving parts were designed for longevity. Two wear-free brushless servo motors with 2 hp each power the Segway. All systems underwent exhaustive tests. Engineers created a modular design allowing damaged or defective parts to be easily replaced.

12. Where does the name Segwaycome from?

Segway takes its name from the term segue(deriving from Italian), meaning the transition from one piece of music or film to another. In this sense, Segway implies the transition from walking to driving or hovering.

13. Who is behind Segway?

Segway Inc., based in Bedford (NH), was founded in 1999 by the inventor and businessman Dean Kamen. Production facilities continue to be concentrated there to this day -> www.segway.com

Nach Stadt filtern: ALLE Berlin Potsdam

Autumn- and Winter-Tour

1,5 h
NewBerlin
Autumn- and Winter-Tour
from 01.11.2018 until 17.03.2019
2,5-3h
NewPotsdam
Segway-Tour Potsdam
The perfect autumn tour!
2,5 h
Berlin
Exclusive / VIP Tour
exclusive private tour starting from 79€ p.p.
2,5 h
Berlin
Big Segway-Tour
Our TOP tour for only 55,20 instead of 69,00 - book now!
1h - 4h
NewBerlin
Segway rental
Segway rental for only 29,00€ per hour
3,5 - 4h
Berlin
On the Trail of the 3rd Reich
fantastic historical tour with lots of information

Navigation

FAQ

1. Was ist ein Segway?

Der SEGWAY Personal Transporter (PT) ist das erste sich selbst-balancierende, strombetriebene Fortbewegungsmittel seiner Art. Die intelligente, höchst komplexe Technik erlaubt eine bis dato nie dagewesene Flexibilität, die es dem Fahrer beispielsweise ermöglicht, auf der Stelle zu drehen, ohne dabei die Balance zu verlieren. Beschleunigt, gebremst und gelenkt wird ausschließlich mittels Gewichtsverlagerung.

2. Wie funktioniert der Segway?

Segway entwickelte die patentierte dynamische Stabilisierungstechnologie. Die Technik besteht aus einem intelligenten Netzwerk von Sensoren, mechanischen Komponenten sowie einem Kontrollsystem, das es ermöglicht, ausbalanciert auf einer Achse zu fahren. In dem Moment, in dem Sie aufsteigen, messen fünf Gyroskope und zwei Kreiselsensoren das sich verändernde Terrain und Ihre Körperposition 100 mal pro Sekunde. Wenn sich der Fahrer leicht nach vorne lehnt, bewegt sich der SEGWAY vorwärts. Wenn sich der Fahrer leicht nach hinten lehnt, bewegt sich der SEGWAY zurück. Detailinformationen über die Funktionsweise des Segways finden Sie im Bereich Technik.

3. Wie schnell kann der Segway fahren?

Die maximale Geschwindigkeit des Segways beträgt 20 km/h. Sie können die Geschwindigkeit jedoch mittels des Infokey-Controllers begrenzen, z.B. zum Üben oder in stark frequentierten Bereichen, etwa Fußgängerzonen.

4. Welche Reichweite habe ich mit dem Segway?

Das hängt von einigen Einflußfaktoren ab: Gewicht des Fahrers, Fahrweise, Außentemperatur und Alter bzw. Pflegezustand der Akkus sind hier zu berücksichtigen. Ein etwa 75kg schwerer Fahrer kommt bei 20°C Aussentemperatur bei stetiger Fahrweise locker auf 35-40km Reichweite. Ändern sich die Parameter, kann dieser Wert z.B. im Winter bei niedrigen Aussentemperaturen und hohem Gewicht des Fahrers deutlich unterschritten werden.

5. Was kostet ein Segway?

Ein neuer Segway liegt im Bereich von etwa 8.500 Euro.

6. Welche Voraussetzungen müssen gegeben sein, um einen Segway fahren zu dürfen?

Benötigt wird stets ein Mofa- oder Autoführerschein, sofern man der Segway im öffentlichen Straßenverkehr nutzen möchte. Bauartbedingt muss das Gewicht des Fahreres zwischen 45 und 115 kg liegen. Desweiteren muss man normal stehen und ohne Hilfe auf eine rund 20cm hohe Stufe steigen können. Es sollten keinerlei gesundheitlichen Beeinträchtigungen vorliegen.

7. Wo kann ich mit dem Segway fahren?

Der Segway ist für die Benutzung auf Radwegen und - alternativ, sofern keine Radwege vorhanden sind - auf Straßen zugelassen. Alle Details regelt die sogenannte MobHV, die Sie z.B. hier einsehen können: http://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/bundesrecht/mobhv/gesamt.pdf

8. Wie sicher ist der Segway?

Größtmögliche Sorgfalt und Forschungsarbeit wurde in die Sicherheit des Segway investiert. Die Technologie des Segway ist absolut revolutionär und bietet ein außergewöhnliches Fahrgefühl. Der Segway besitzt redundant ausgelegte Systeme und technisch ausgereifte Warnmechanismen. Ungezählte Betriebsstunden und Praxiseinsätze haben gezeigt, dass ein Segway bei sachgemäßer Bedienung sicher ist. Es ist aber auch wichtig, dass sich der Segway-Fahrer seiner Verantwortung, sicher zu fahren, bewusst ist. Sachgemäße Handhabung und das Verstehen der Funktionsweise des Segway verhindern Verletzungen, die durch Missbrauch oder Kontrollverlust verursacht werden können.

9. Wofür ist der Segway prädestiniert?

Der Segway macht nicht nur sehr viel Spaß, er bietet auch vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten: Für Kurztrips bis ca. 15km in Ballungsgebieten gibt es kein besseres Fahrzeug: Ein Segway ist extrem wendig, hat sehr kurze Bremswege, beschleunigt sehr schnell, benötigt kaum mehr Platz als ein Mensch als Fußgänger, ist sehr leise, extrem umweltfreundlich da absolut emissionsfrei, er bietet die Möglichkeit, Gepäck zu transportieren, das Stehen im Stau und das Suchen nach Parkplätzen entfallen ebenso wie das Warten auf die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel – und im Gegensatz zum Fahrrad kommt man nicht geschwitzt ins Büro, sondern völlig entspannt und so frisch, wie man das Haus verlassen hat, ist trotzdem die ganze Zeit an der frischen Luft und hatte auf dem Weg auch noch Spaß – sagen Sie selbst, gibt es einen besseren Weg zur Arbeit?

Daneben bieten sich weitere vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten an, entnehmen Sie weitere Informationen unserer Rubrik -> Modelle

10. Sind die Stromkosten für den Ladevorgang eines Segway sehr hoch?

Nein, die Stromkosten fallen nur sehr gering ins Gewicht. Je nach Tarif Ihres Stromanbieters verursacht ein Ladevorgang Kosten im Bereich von ca. 15-25 Cent. Die Reichweite eines vollgeladenen Segway i2 beträgt - in Abhängigkeit vom Gewicht des Fahrers, des Untergrunds, Steigungen etc. - etwa 35 bis 40 km, d.h. im Mittel kommt man mit lediglich 1 Euro Stromkosten etwa 200 km weit –> 5 Cent für 10 km. (Zum Vergleich: Ein PKW benötigt hier bereits ca. 1,30 Euro an Benzin). Durch Energierückgewinnung werden die Akkus beim Bremsen übrigens wieder aufgeladen.

11. Wie lange hält ein Segway?

Der Segway wurde für extreme Beständigkeit entworfen. Um ein solch beständiges Produkt zu entwickeln, wurden zwei Wege verfolgt. Erstens sind die mechanischen und elektrischen Systeme solide beschaffen, selbst die beweglichen Teile wurden für Langlebigkeit entworfen. Den Antrieb leisten zwei bürstenlose Servomotoren mit jeweils 2 PS, die verschleißfrei sind. Sämtliche Systeme wurden ausgiebigen Tests unterzogen. Die Ingenieure entwickelten ein modulares Design, welches es ermöglicht, beschädigte oder kaputte Teile leicht austauschen zu können.

12. Woher stammt der Name "Segway"?

Die Inspiration stammt von dem Wort "segue", welches im englischen Sprachgebrauch den Übergang von einem Stadium zu einem anderen definiert, beim Segway den Übergang vom Laufen zum schwebenden Fahren.

13. Wer steht hinter der Firma Segway?

Segway Inc., beheimatet in Bedford NH, wurde 1999 vom Erfinder und Unternehmer Dean Kamen gegründet, wo die Segways auch heute noch zentral produziert werden -> www.segway.com

Nach Stadt filtern: Alle Berlin Potsdam
2,5 h
Berlin
Sightseeing Tour
Unsere Top-Tour - jetzt buchen!
2h & 3h
NeuPotsdam
Segway-Tour Potsdam
schon ab 59€ buchbar
2,5 h
Berlin
VIP-/ Exklusiv-Tour
Privat-Tour ab 79€ p.P.
1,5h
NeuBerlin
1,5h Kurztour
Tourstart: am Potsdamer Platz
2h
Berlin
Festival of Lights / Berlin Leuchtet
vom 06.10.2017 - 15.10.2017
2h
Berlin
Berlin@Night
Jeden Freitag per Segway durch die Nacht
3,5 - 4h
Berlin
Auf den Spuren des 3. Reichs
Einmalig in Berlin. Versprochen.
1,5 h
Berlin
Winter-Tour
ab 01.11.2017 bis 18.03.2018

Menü